Backup cost comparison
What a power station, a portable generator, a standby generator and a home battery cost to buy, install and run for the load you need to keep on.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The Amazon links in the table may pay us a commission, and the other store links don’t. Affiliate disclosure
Cost over 10 years
- Power station$502BLUETTI AC180, 7.1 h per charge
- Portable generator$1,574 to $2,574Champion 201319, 14.1 h per tank
- Standby generator$7,646 to $17,096Champion 14 kW aXis (100837), runs as long as the gas line does
- Home battery$13,058Tesla Powerwall 3, 98.5 h per charge
Buying, installing, upkeep and fuel or power for your outage hours. Ranges come from installers’ cost guides.
Side by side
| Power station | Portable generator | Standby generator | Home battery | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Covers your load | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Unit price | $499Store price, Oct 27, 2026 | $999Store price, Oct 27, 2026 | $4,999With a transfer switch, Store price, Oct 27, 2026 | $13,055Average installed quote, Oct 26, 2026 |
| Installation | NonePlugs straight into what it powers | NoneExtension cords to each appliance | $1,650 to $5,400Labor, permits and pad | IncludedThe quote covers installation |
| Upfront cost | $499Before any incentive | $999Before any incentive | $6,649 to $10,399Before any incentive | $13,055Before any incentive |
| Runs on its own | 7.1 h per charge | 14.1 h per tank | As long as the gas line runs | 98.5 h per chargeSolar panels can recharge it by day |
| Cost per hour of outage | 2¢Recharging from the grid | 69¢Gasoline | $1.79Natural gas | 3¢Recharging from the grid |
| Fuel or power a year | 27¢For 11 hours without power | $7.54For 11 hours without power | $19.66For 11 hours without power | 31¢For 11 hours without power |
| Upkeep a year | No cost listedNone in our sources | $50 to $150Oil, filters and checks | $80 to $650A yearly service visit | No cost listedNone in our sources |
| Cost over 10 years | $502Buying, installing and 10 years of running | $1,574 to $2,574Buying, installing and 10 years of running | $7,646 to $17,096Buying, installing and 10 years of running | $13,058Buying, installing and 10 years of running |
| Noise | Not published | 61 dB(A)23 ft, load not stated | 62 dB(A)Running, distance not stated | Not published |
| How long it lasts | 3,500 cyclesCharge cycles to 80% capacity, per the maker | Up to 10 yearsOr 2,000 to 5,000 hours of running | 15 to 30 yearsOr 10,000 to 30,000 hours of running | 10-year warrantyCovers 70% of capacity at the end. |
| Where to buy | See it at BLUETTI (opens in a new tab)Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab)Sold through installers | See it at Norwall (opens in a new tab)Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab)Sold through installers | See it at Norwall (opens in a new tab)Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab)Sold through installers | See it at (opens in a new tab)Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab)Sold through installers |
Each column shows BLUETTI AC180, Champion 201319, Champion 14 kW aXis (100837), Tesla Powerwall 3.
How we calculate
The fuel cost comes from each maker’s fuel table at your average load as a share of the unit’s rating. Between two published loads we draw a straight line. Below the lightest published load we use that load’s figure, so at light loads the real cost is lower than we show. When your load is heavier than anything in the table, the cell says “at least”.
A power station is recharged from the grid after the outage, priced at its rated capacity. Makers don’t publish charging losses, so the real figure is somewhat higher, but it stays a few cents an hour. A home battery is priced with the maker’s round-trip efficiency. Runtime on a power station counts 85% of its capacity as usable, the same as the runtime calculator.
The 10-year total doesn’t include the fuel a standby generator burns on its weekly self-test, refilling a propane tank before it runs dry, or replacing a portable generator that wears out early.
What the ranges mean
Installed costs come from cost guides built on contractor quotes, and they swing a lot by region and by how far the unit sits from your panel and gas meter. Get two or three quotes before you decide. Standby installation is labor, permits and placement from Angi, plus a concrete pad, plus a propane tank if you don’t have natural gas.
Home batteries are sold through installers, so their price is the average installed quote on EnergySage for that brand, before incentives. The federal tax credit for batteries (Residential Clean Energy Credit (Section 25D)) ended for systems placed in service after December 31, 2025. Some states and utilities still pay rebates.
Safety
Run a portable generator outside only, at least 20 feet from the house, never in a garage. See our guide to generator carbon monoxide safety. Connecting one to your panel takes an interlock kit or a transfer switch put in by an electrician. Our backfeeding and interlock guide explains why.
Where the numbers come from
Products
| Product | Price | Specs and fuel use | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus | $719, EcoFlow store | EcoFlow US store, DELTA 3 Plus | Oct 27, 2026 |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 | $2,799, EcoFlow store | EcoFlow US store, DELTA Pro 3 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| BLUETTI AC180 | $499, BLUETTI store | BLUETTI US store, AC180 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 | $1,089, Jackery US store, Explorer 2000 v2Store page showed a sale badge without the regular price. | Jackery US store, Explorer 2000 v2 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Anker SOLIX C1000X | $599.99, Anker SOLIX US store, C1000XA $130 code was auto-applied at checkout for a limited time. | Anker SOLIX US store, C1000X | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 | $1,349, Jackery US store, HomePower 3000 | Jackery US store, HomePower 3000 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Honda EU2200i | $1,199, Honda Power Equipment, EU2200i | Honda Power Equipment, EU2200i | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Honda EU3200i | $2,799, Honda Power Equipment, EU3200i49-state model (EU3200IAN). The California model lists at $2,899. | Honda Power Equipment, EU3200i | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Honda EU7000iS | $4,899, Honda Power Equipment, EU7000iS49-state model (EU7000ISNAN). The California model lists at $4,999. | Honda Power Equipment, EU7000iS | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse iGen2800DFc | $599, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, iGen2800DFc | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse iGen4000DFc | $859, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, iGen4000DFc | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse iGen5000DFc EFI | $1,399, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, iGen5000DFc EFI | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Champion 201319 | $999, Norwall PowerSystems, Champion 201319 | Champion Power Equipment, 201319 4500W dual fuel inverter | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse WGen9500DFc | $1,399, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, WGen9500DFc | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse iGen2800c | $549, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, iGen2800c | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse iGen4000c | $799, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, iGen4000c | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse WGen3600DFv | $499, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, WGen3600DFv | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Westinghouse WGen5300 | $729, Westinghouse store | Westinghouse store, WGen5300 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Generac 14 kW (7258) | $5,255.1, Ferguson Home, Generac 7323 (14 kW with transfer switch)Model 7323, with a 200 A automatic transfer switch. | Generac, 10/14/18 kW air-cooled standby spec sheet | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Generac 22 kW (7260) | $6,506.1, Ferguson Home, Generac 7325 (22 kW with transfer switch)Model 7325, with a 200 A automatic transfer switch. | Generac, 22-28 kW air-cooled standby spec sheet | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Generac 26 kW (7327) | $7,253.1, Ferguson Home, Generac 7328 (26 kW with transfer switch)Model 7328, with a 200 A automatic transfer switch. | Generac, 22-28 kW air-cooled standby spec sheet | Oct 26, 2026 |
| KOHLER 14RCA | $6,066, KOHLER Home Generators, Shop all productsModel 14RCAL, with an automatic transfer switch. | KOHLER 14RCA spec sheet (G4-270, 4/26) | Oct 26, 2026 |
| KOHLER 20RCA | $6,984, KOHLER Home Generators, Shop all productsModel 20RCAL, with an automatic transfer switch. | KOHLER 20RCA spec sheet (G4-272, 4/26) | Oct 26, 2026 |
| KOHLER 26RCA | $8,515, KOHLER Home Generators, Shop all productsModel 26RCAL, with an automatic transfer switch. | KOHLER 26RCA spec sheet (G4-315, 4/26) | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Champion 14 kW aXis (100837) | $4,999, Norwall PowerSystems, Champion 100837Model 100837, with a 200 A aXis automatic transfer switch. | Champion Power Equipment, 100837 14 kW aXis home standby generator and 200 A switch | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | $13,055, EnergySage, Solar battery cost (updated July 13, 2026)Average installed quote for one 13.5 kWh unit on EnergySage, first half of 2026, before incentives. | Tesla, Powerwall 3 datasheet (North America, 2024) | Oct 26, 2026 |
| 2 × Enphase IQ Battery 5P | $14,290, EnergySage, Solar battery cost (updated July 13, 2026)Average installed quote for a 10 kWh system (two units) on EnergySage, first half of 2026, before incentives. | Enphase, IQ Battery 5P data sheet (DSH-00010 2.0, US, 2023-07-26; copy hosted by Signature Solar) | Oct 26, 2026 |
| FranklinWH aPower 2 | $18,480, EnergySage, Solar battery cost (updated July 13, 2026)Average installed quote for one 15 kWh unit on EnergySage, first half of 2026, before incentives. | FranklinWH, aPower 2 datasheet (2026-10-09) | Oct 26, 2026 |
Installation, upkeep and energy
| Item | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Standby installation | $1,500 to $5,000Labor and installation. Angi's $4,520 average covers permits, placement and wiring. | Angi, Whole house generator cost (updated September 1, 2026) |
| Concrete pad | $150 to $400Pre-cast concrete pad. Angi puts a poured 3 by 6 ft pad at about $1,000. | HomeGuide, Whole house generator cost (December 30, 2025) |
| Propane tank | $400 to $1,800Propane tank, for homes without natural gas. | HomeGuide, Whole house generator cost (December 30, 2025) |
| Interlock kit, installed | $450 to $950$50 to $150 for the kit plus $400 to $800 for an electrician, where local code allows an interlock. | Consumer Reports, Generator buying guide (updated October 1, 2026) |
| Portable generator upkeep, a year | $50 to $150A year of upkeep for a 7 to 10 kW portable: oil, filters and checks, often done by the owner. | HomeGuide, Generator repair and maintenance cost (January 14, 2026) |
| Standby generator upkeep, a year | $200 to $650A year of professional service: inspection, oil and filters. | HomeGuide, Whole house generator cost (December 30, 2025) |
| Standby generator upkeep, a year | $80 to $300A year of professional service. | HomeAdvisor, Whole-house generator installation cost (updated June 19, 2026) |
| Electricity | 18.19¢ per kWh, US averageResidential, August 2026 YTD. Each state has its own figure. | EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.B (residential, year to date) |
| Natural gas | $15.34 per thousand cubic feet, US averageResidential, 2025. Each state has its own figure. | EIA, Natural Gas Prices (residential, annual) |
| Gasoline | $4.284 a gallonRegular, week of 10/19/26 | EIA, Weekly Retail Gasoline and Diesel Prices |
| Propane | $2.689 a gallonResidential, before taxes, week of 10/19/26 | EIA, Weekly Heating Oil and Propane Prices (residential propane) |
| Hours without power | 11 hours in 2024Average US customer | EIA, Hurricanes in 2024 led to the most hours without power in the United States in 10 years (December 1, 2025) |